Aim of the almæsthetics Research Centre at the Department of Philosophy and Communication is to design, carry out and coordinate research activities in the field of aesthetics within Alma Mater Studiorum - University of Bologna. It will be joined by the professors of our University in the field of aesthetics, who also work in other departments.

In the wake of Bologna's phenomenological tradition, almæsthetics aims to promote a plural conception of aesthetics as knowledge of human reality, understood in its various forms also in the light of contemporary cultural phenomena. 

The Centre aims to promote the research carried out in the field of aesthetics through international and national activities and the production of scientific publications. One of the Centre's tasks will also be to give visibility to the research of young scholars who wish to further study single topics following the plural approach that characterises almæsthetics.

In order to promote dialogue with the national and international community, almæsthetics will provide on its website a census and the dissemination of relevant events and projects in the thematic field of reference (such as national and international Call for papers and Call for interest).

Finally, a strategic communication tool will be the editorial activity that the Centre's scientific committee makes available to almæsthetics. On the one hand, by virtue of the collaboration with the most prestigious journals in this area, in which the members of the committee participate by being part of the relevant boards or even of their own direction. On the other hand, with the direct involvement in book series that are available in publishing houses of great interest for this specific field of research.


  • Pierpaolo Ascari
  • Federico Farnè
  • Ivano Gorzanelli
  • Gioia Laura Iannilli
  • Silvia Pieroni
  • Rolando Vitali


  International board

  • Damir Barbarić (University of Zagreb)
  • Maria João Mayer Branco (Universidade Nova de Lisboa)
  • Andrew Benjamin (Monash University, Melbourne; Kingston University, London)
  • Richard Eldridge (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität, Freiburg i.Br.)
  • Günter Figal (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität, Freiburg i.Br.)
  • Carolyn Korsmeyer (University of Buffalo, New York)
  • Ossi Naukkarinen (Aalto University, Helsinki)
  • Akihiro Ozaki (Tohoku University)
  • Richard Shusterman (Florida Atlantic University)
  • Gilles Tiberghien (Université Paris-I Panthéon Sorbonne)
  • Patrick Wotling (Université der Reims Champagne-Ardenne)
  • Christoph Wulf (Freie Universität, Berlin)